Sunday, January 2, 2011

Cafe Muse Pays Tribute to Hilary Tham January 3

In 2011, Cafe Muse will pay tribute to late poets the literary community hold dear.

Our Monday, January 3 program featuring poets Charles Jensen & Alexandra van de Kamp will honor Hilary Tham.

Friendship Heights Village Center, 
4433 South Park Avenue, 
Chevy Chase, MD 20815 
7:00 pm 

Here are biographic details for our feature readers and for Hilary Tham

CHARLES JENSEN was a finalist for the 2010 Lambda Literary Award for his book of poems The First Risk. He is the author of three additional chapbooks, including Living Things, which won the 2006 Frank O'Hara Chapbook Award. His poems have appeared in New England ReviewThe JournalWillow Springs, and 32 Poems. A past recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, he serves on the Board of Directors of the Arts & Humanities Council of Montgomery County.

ALEXANDRA VAN DE KAMP is the author of three chapbooks, and the full-length collection, The Park of Upside-Down Chairs, (WordTech Press, 2010.) She is one of the founding editors of Terra Incognita, an international literary/cultural journal in English and Spanish. Her work appears widely in MeridianGreensboro ReviewPoetry Northwest and other publications. She lives in Port Jervis, NY and teaches at Stony Brook University.
HILARY THAM (1946-2005) was an artist and author of nine books of poetry, including Counting: A Long Poem. Her second book, Bad Names for Women, won second prize in the Virginia Poetry Prizes (Judge: Gerald Stern) and third prize in the Paterson Prize for Poetry (judge: Diane Wakoski). She also wrote a memoir: Lane With No Name, Memoirs and Poems of a Malaysian-Chinese Girlhood and a set of interlinked short stores Tin Mines & Concubines. A new project will make her books electronically available to libraries in 2011.

January's tribute to Ms. Tham is with grateful acknowledgment to the New Room Poets, a group organized by Hilary Tham. We also look forward to a reading of one of her poems by her husband Joe Goldberg who will kick off the open mic portion of the program.

No comments: