Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Finale at Miller Cabin

This season at Joaquin Miller's Cabin was exceptionally stellar—7 out of 8 programs were in the park (meaning we weren't rained out), audience attendance was consistently good (20 to 40 people per program), readers as was always the tradition over the 30 plus years were memorable if not standouts, and our co-directors Kathi Morrison-Taylor, Doug Wilkinson, and Rosemary Winslow as well as our Jacklyn Potter Young Poets Director Perry Epes provided the kind of engaged and hospitable support that makes people want to come back.

I believe we have a winning team in Kathi, Doug, and Rosemary.

Many thanks to everyone who contributed to the 2007 Miller Cabin Poetry Series. A special thanks to Mrs. Paul Grayson for catering the reception on June 19 and to all of you who made contributions in Jacklyn Potter's name.

Thursday, July 5, 2007

Prartho Sereno Wins Word Works 2007 Washington Prize

The Word Works is pleased to announce that Prartho Sereno, of San Anselmo, CA, won the 2007 Washington Prize for her full-length poetry manuscript, Call from Paris. The prize includes publication and a cash award of $1,500.

Ms. Sereno is a California Poet in the Schools and a watercolor artist whose work appears on book and CD covers. She is the author of a chapbook of poems, Garden Sutra (Finishing Line Press, 2005), and a book of essays, Everyday Miracles (Kensington, N.Y., 1998). Her illustrated book of poems, Causing a Stir: The Secret Lives and Loves of Kitchen Utensils, will be issued by Mansarovar Press in October 2007. She won a Marin Arts Council Individual Artist Grant in 2003. Her individual poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Atlanta Review, Chautauqua Review, Comstock Review, Rattle, Runes, California Quarterly, and other journals.

Call from Paris was chosen the winner from 257 manuscripts submitted by American poets. Two additional manuscripts were named honorable mentions: Balloon Animals, by Donald Illich, Rockville, MD, and The Fat Sheep Everyone Wants, by Bern Mulvey, Ekuserento Beru, Japan.

Final judges in this year’s contest were Karren L. Alenier, J.H. Beall, Bernadette Geyer, Miles David Moore, and Steven B. Rogers. First readers were Cliff Bernier, Doris Brody, Angelyn Donahue, W. Perry Epes, Michael Gushue, Erich Hintze, Tod Ibrahim, Sydney March, Mike McDermott, Ann Rayburn, Martha Sanchez-Lowery, Jill Tunick, and Doug Wilkinson. Second readers were Mark Dawson, Brandon D. Johnson, and Judith McCombs.

The Word Works has awarded the Washington Prize since 1981. In 2008, the Word Works again will offer publication and a $1,500 prize to a volume of original poetry. Submissions will be accepted from Jan. 15 to March 1, 2008, and the entry fee will be $25. All entrants receive a copy of the winning book. For further information and guidelines (available December 2007), send a stamped, self-addressed envelope to the Word Works, P.O. Box 42164, Washington DC 20015, or visit the Word Works Web site at http://www.wordworksdc.com.

Call from Paris is available by advance order for $10 plus $3.50 shipping and handling from the mailing address above.

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

Miller Cabin Readings

When Kathi Morrison-Taylor says, "Let us join together to welcome," I am transported into the history of all the evenings lit with fireflies, candles, flashlights, and the poetry of illuminated artists who have traveled to this cathedral of trees towering over the modest log cabin originally built by Joaquin Miller.

This year we celebrate and remember poets intimately connected with the Miller Cabin: Jacklyn Potter, Robert Sargent, and Hilary Tham.
Cabin cake
baked by
Lois McBride

Miles Moore holds up The Tao of Mrs. Wei by Hilary Tham when he paid to tribute to her at the July 19, 2007 program which included
Heather Blain

and Shep Ranbom.

This year has been especially wonderful with sizeable audiences filling the picnic tables around the cabin. During the 4th of July holiday week over 30 people appeared to hear
Kay Lindsey and
Susan Bucci Mockler. To make the programs more festive, Michael Hauptschein occassionally hangs his unicorn banners.

Only three more programs left. Next week we hear Temple Cone and Barbara Lefcowitz. Joe Goldberg will read a poem by Hilary Tham. Don't miss the pleasure of the Miller Cabin Poetry Series this summer.

To quote Jacklyn Potter, "Tourjours le mot!"